Exams

You will have the choice of a take-home or a sit-down; I will prepare both.

The scheduled exam is Monday April 23, 2007 at 9:00AM in WC31. You can bring in one 8 1/2 X 11 sheet of paper, written or printed on one side.

The take-home will be handed out last class and will be due by the start of the scheduled exam. In other words, if you don’t have a paper in hand by 9am on the 23rd, come in and make yourself comfortable!

The take-home will be one essay question that draws in a number of plays; the scheduled exam will have more questions but the focus will be on essay questions. Both will offer a considerable degree of choice.

I would appreciate a tentative indication of your plans, though you retain the option until the 23rd.

Published in: on March 30, 2007 at 9:03 pm  Comments (19)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://engl3203in07.wordpress.com/2007/03/30/exams/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

19 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks!

    I am 99% sure that I’ll be writing in-class, but you never know – I might suddenly suffer from homework withdrawal after the last day of classes (*cough* not likely).

  2. Dr. Jones, as I have never had the opportunity of a take-home exam I’m wondering whether we will be asked to secondary sources, as we would in a paper, or whether we work with the plays only, as we would in the sit-down exam.

    Thank you!

  3. USE secondary sources, I think I wanted to say…

  4. Yes, you could certainly use secondary sources, but they would not be required and I would suggest that they not be used to excess, given the time constraints.

  5. At the moment I’m leaning towards the option of a take-home. I suppose it would depend on the question, but could we be given a general idea of the desired length for a take-home paper? I’m less concerned about writing too much and more concerned about writing too little.

  6. I am pretty positive that I’ll be embarking upon the take-home route.

  7. Off the top of my head, 6-8 pages sounds reasonable. The question(s) would be fairly open-ended, and I would expect you to draw on several of the plays. Will have something more definitive soon!

  8. As of right now my plan is to the do the take-home. I have never done one before but it is what i am leaning towards at the moment.

  9. Yeah, I think I’ll do the take home as well.

  10. I am going to do the take home option as well. Thank you very much Dr. Jones for providing us with this option.

  11. I am so leaning toward the take home exam at the moment but I have yet to make up my mind for certain. I will let you know Dr. Jones as soon as I know which route I plan to take.

  12. I am not sure which I’d like to take. Although a take-home might be nice, I never really have had a problem with sitting in. I think I’ll know for sure when I get the take-home, though, and I’ll let you know soon after.

  13. I think I’ll do the take home option.

  14. Okay, so seeing as how terrible my attention span has been lately, I am *definitely* opting for the sit-down exam. Three hours is much easier for me to wrap my brain around than a whole week. So now everybody else has their “out” in case they don’t get the take-home done. 🙂

  15. I am definitely doing the take-home!

  16. I am definitely doing the take home – I’m actually well on my way of being done it. So I can study for the rest of my exams

  17. Dr. Jones, there has been a death in my family and due to this tragedy I am not sure it I will be able to write my take-home exam over the weekend, so there is a strong possibility that I might be writing the in-class exam.

  18. I’m going to tentatively say I will be doing the take home, but I am away this weekend so I may have to write the in-class exam — it’s 50-50 at this point

  19. Hello Dr. Jones
    I am leaning towards the take home exam


Leave a Reply

